Justin Amash a founding member of the new House Freedom Caucus

Matt Naham

A group of nine House Republicans are forming a new group called the “House Freedom Caucus,” whose mission statement is to “give a voice to countless Americans who feel that Washington does not represent them … support open, accountable and limited government, the Constitution and the rule of law, and policies that promote the liberty, safety and prosperity of all Americans.”

Reps. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Raúl Labrador (R-Idaho), Justin Amash (R-Mich.), Ron DeSantis (R-Fla.), John Fleming (R-La.), Scott Garrett (R-N.J.), Mark Meadows (R-N.C.), Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.) and Matt Salmon (R-Ariz.) are the founding nine of this caucus.

According to National Review Online’s Joel Gehrke, “about 30 House Republicans will meet Monday evening to establish the bylaws of a new caucus animated by two principles: First, rank-and-file Republicans must pressure leadership to enact a more conservative agenda. And second, this pressure should never involve frantic scurrying on the House floor.”…



The article continues at Rare.US

Comments are closed.