Travelers from Ebola-stricken countries face new restrictions

Susan Ferrechio
The Washington Examiner

Travelers arriving from three Ebola-afflicted countries in Africa will have to land in one of five airports equipped with special screening measures for the disease, the Department of Homeland Security announced Tuesday.

The DHS labeled the move a travel restriction, though it does not go as far as banning arrivals from those nations, which has been called for by many Republican lawmakers and some Democrats.

“We are continually evaluating whether additional restrictions or added screening and precautionary measures are necessary to protect the American people and will act accordingly,” Johnson said.

About 94 percent of travelers from Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea, where Ebola is rampant, land at one of the five airports…



The article continues at The Washington Examiner.




Comments are closed.